Posted by: David Harley | February 23, 2013

Insight

My mother used to tell me
that your children keep you young

Remembering, though
how old she always seemed to me
even though she was in her twenties when I was born
I wonder if she meant only
that children lessen your chances
of achieving old age

When I attempted to share this fragmentary insight
with the mother of my children
she remarked only that at least they had kept me
childish

Or, on drawing one’s Old Adage Pension
Published in ‘Suite in four flats (and a maisonette)’. Copyright David Harley 1985

Leave a Reply

Categories

