Posted by: David Harley | April 5, 2013

New Paranoia Blues

Every week
I own a little more

A gadget
An ornament
An item of furniture
A piece of mortgage
Five more square inches of living space

Every month
I buy a bigger padlock

Outside the hardware shop
I double-fault
At a double-take
Did I double-check
That I double-locked?

Yes, the title is a gratuitous reference to Paul Simon’s ‘Paranoia Blues’. Published in Suite in 4 Flats and a Maisonette (FiasCo). Copyright David Harley 1985.

Leave a Reply

Categories

